What it takes to become a Certified Peer Support Specialists

Do you know what it takes to become a Certified Peer Support Specialist in Minnesota?

✔️have a diagnosed mental illness

✔️be in recovery

✔️application process

✔️two letters of recommendation

✔️phone interview

✔️be selected out of 100’s of applicants

✔️attend training

✔️pass exam

✔️ 30 CEU’s every two years to maintain certification.

Certified Peer Specialists are evidence based practices that integrate professional support and first-hand experience with mental illness. A Certified Peer Specialist has the ability and experience to say the power words, “I understand.” The certification training focuses on the Five Recovery Paths and how to utilize personal recovery experiences to empower others along their journeys.




141 west 1st Street, Waconia MN 55387